A Lack of Anniversaries and Patience

Today would have been my 3rd anniversary with Ross had we stayed together.  The death of a dream (the idea of us) bothers me today far more than the reality.  I thought we’d be engaged by now, maybe even married.  I thought we’d be figuring out when to have kids.  I never imagined I’d be single and childless at my age.  I never thought I’d be where I am now, but that’s how it is.  I’m back to square one.  Sure, it is true in that I’d rather be lonely and single than lonely in a relationship, but I’m still feeling sad today.  And that’s okay.  Ross and I couldn’t make it work.  I’ll never have another anniversary with him.

The lack of an anniversary with him isn’t what is bothering me, it is how I thought my life would be different from what it is today.  I feel sad and impatient.  Thought I’d be in a better place in life than where I currently am not only in relationships but also in my work, in my living situation, in my friendships.  I thought I’d be . . . more.  I thought I’ve worked hard enough for more by now.

It’s been a little over 24-hours since I heard back from Pete/Mr. Kittens.  Can’t say I’m pleased about that either.  Once again, I am impatient.  I just want to be with someone who is as eager to talk with me, spend time with me, be near me as I am for them and with them.  I have forgotten what it feels like to be valued, loved, cared for, sought after, cherished.

We always want what we don’t have.

I also want pizza.  #PizzaForever

Leave a comment